Since summer is heating up in Mesa, you may have an urge to cool down with an irresistible bottle of ice-cold beer or an icy, fruity cocktail. You might decide to enjoy yourself while sitting beside a pool with your friends. Although you may feel fine and only slightly buzzed when you get behind the steering wheel of your car, you may have consumed more than what is legally allowed for driving.
Under Mesa, Arizona law, every DUI case has some form of jail time as a consequence. DUI cases that rack up from $20 to over $1300 are considered class 4 felony cases. These cases may come with a mandatory prison sentence of up to four months. When it comes to aggravated DUI, the minimum punishment for this felony is four months in prison.
If law enforcers pull you over on suspicion of driving under the influence, everything you say or do can have an impact on your case. It is critical to understand your rights and contact a Mesa DUI lawyer. The following articles discuss several things you should never do if you are pulled over on suspicion of DUI.
Don’t provide information.
When officers begin to ask questions, keep in mind that any information you give can be exploited against you if you are arrested. Even innocent questions such as where you came from can lead to other questions that indicate whether or not you have been ingesting alcohol and how much. The answers you provide can be used in court. Remain calm, keep a poker face, and answer the officer with general statements such as “I have nothing to say” or “I have no comment.” Never be defensive or angry if the officer demands you to answer questions or even threatens you with legal action. Keep in mind that you have rights, and one of them is the refusal to comment. Contact a competent and reliable mesa DUI lawyer at this point.
In Mesa, Arizona, there are critical differences between aggravated DUI and regular DUI. An aggravated DUI becomes a felony offense and will require an obligatory prison time. An aggravated DUI comes with severe penalties compared to a standard DUI. It typically comes with severe fines as well as revocation of the license. It will not simply result in a suspension of your driver’s license.
Don’t undergo sobriety tests.
Despite the common notion, you are not required to undergo a sobriety test if you are pulled over on suspicion of driving under the influence. An officer can arrest you without having to perform this test. Agreeing to complete them can only give the police evidence to be applied against you in a court case. Even worse, there are no strict scientific rules for what is considered failing a test, so it is not reliable.
Keep in mind that in Mesa, Arizona, there will be severe penalties aside from having your driver’s license suspended if you are arrested for driving under the influence. Your employment might also be threatened, especially if you are accused of aggravated driving under the influence. Doctors, lawyers, as well as real estate agents are professionals who may lose their licenses. A majority of professional licenses carry with them obligatory reporting for felony DUI charges.
Don’t perform a breathalyzer.
Similarly, you don’t have to perform a sobriety test; you also don’t have to agree to perform a breathalyzer. If you are arrested, you may be required to complete a breathalyzer at the police station.
Taking this test will only provide a piece of police evidence that can be exploited against you in court.
You must know your rights when arrested when driving under the influence. The police will require you to do some actions that will have legal implications in your case. You must know your rights and do not agree to this even if they threaten you. It is essential to contact a skilled and steadfast Mesa DUI lawyer at this point to make sure your rights are defended and things don’t get out of hand.